Indulge in the perks of backpacking and start planning a trip ASAP!!!

It gets you grounded!
Holidays, for me, were about travelling in cars, staying in fancy hotels with swimming pools, having a beautiful view and great hospitality. Yes, this was how I travelled with my family and hence was my image of a perfect holiday. But one fine day I finally decided I wanted it no more. I wanted to break the stereotype of holidays.

I used to love travelling with really heavy bags. I`m a perfectionist, I profess to having OCD (Obsessive Compulsive Disorder) (Obsessive Cleaning Disorder as invented by my friends for me :p)and would carry 2 sets of clothes for a day (multiply by the number of days for our trip), matching accessories from top to bottom, minimum 3 pairs of footwear, toiletries (I would use only mine not those supplied by the hotel) and after having all of it yet have back up stuff of everything, in case of emergency (Uuff crazy me!).

But this time I was very clear, it was just going to be one bag. Yes One Bag Only! (Very easy to say but when I started….)I started with my packing and landed up with stuff for 2 bags (the original me). But I was adamant on having only One Bag. So,I somehow managed to reduce it. Till the last minute I kept exchanging things from the bag. (with a lot of Yes/No/May-be wars within my mind).

After 3 days I was finally packed with 6 T- shirts, 2 denims, 1 pair of shorts, 1 dress, 1 jacket, flip-flop, shades and one cream. With just that my bag was full. Yes totally full! My bag weighed 9KG. Not to forget this was for a 20 day trip. This was the scariest thing for me. Travelling for 20days with just this much? It was like stepping into a scary dream. But life me kuch masti toh maangta hai aur iss baar kuch naya karna tha (I need something fun in life and this time I wanted to have something new to look forward to).

This might sound very easy to some, but for a person like me with such grand holiday memories of luxury and style, it was really a big deal!!

When I shared this with my family and friends none of them could believe it. Most of them said, “This kind of a trip is not for you, you will sulk and spoil your holiday.” On the other hand, some were very excited for me. They were genuinely waiting for me to get back (for gifts and chocolates may be: P) and also listen to the stories as to when and where this idea back-fired me:P. We all have such wonderful friends, don’t we? Ha Ha!!!

Well, I think the plot is well set, now let me share my backpacking experience!

Backpacking, according to what I had heard/read/saw/researched was all about home stays, hostels, metros, trams, buses, local people, local food and local language. Being able to pick your travel plans and destinations made backpacking look extremely exciting and flexible. You are free to extend or shorten your stays depending on your liking. The World is Your Oyster! All sounded very cool but I was a bit concerned about whether it would all be good, healthy and hygienic? Not to forget….I was on a high of indulging myself by backpacking.

Did you know that walking could help you see the world with all of its many culturally diverse treasures and lovely people? Well actually backpacking allows one to explore both themselves and the world simultaneously. Yes I explored the place as well as myself. I rediscovered myself in this trip. Hence I say:

BACKPACKING IS A LIFE CHANGING EXPERIENCE!!!

Backpacking gets you grounded totally. Have you ever heard a host saying, “I will keep the keys under the doormat? You can open the main door and then use the code 1234*** and get into your room. The Wi-Fi password is 8888.Kindly leave the keys under the doormat when you check out”. That was the craziest message I had ever received…. a day before reaching the destination! I can`t ever imagine leaving our keys under the doormat here in India!!

So, my imagination, thoughts, feelings just grew with curiosity as day got closer. The day arrived and I was at the airport, totally excited for this new experience (hopefully amazing one too). New place, new country, new way of holidaying and it was making me go crazy. This trip was with my hubby-my Hero and not a solo or a trip with my friend’s.

As soon as we landed I took a map and started exploring the city. We explored many cities, had quick bites at local cafes, travelled in trams, spent our nights in home stays and hostels, met new people, saw new cultures and lifestyles and enjoyed the freedom, independence and learning.  

At home stays, the hosts and travellers /hi-bye friends suggested we see the local life, the real life, the real citizens of the city by giving us landmarks, maps and explaining ways to many amazing lanes, areas which are hidden from most of the tourists. Exploring the real city and knowing its stories were more worthy and enriching than the most famous site seeing places.

One of the home stays we were staying at was on the 5th floor and there was no elevator. But we didn’t complain one bit, in fact we happily climbed up even after a long day of exploring the city.

Grocery shopping, to cook our Indian cuisine with their organic spices and veggies was a real challenge. Most of the ingredients were not to be found, but yet we loved the home made (Indian) food.

Doing laundry after every 3-4 days was another new experience. So also was sleeping with our stomach half full or almost empty as we were too tired to even go and have food. Getting up at midnight due to hunger and having ice-cream (as that’s the only thing available in fridge). Getting up early morning with freezing temperatures outside, taking a shower in just about 2×2 bathroom was crazy. Sipping coffee, and only a croissant without anything else for breakfast. All these experiences are unforgettable.

Local travel was a superb choice asthere were a large number of backpackers out there who were just the same as us. It was really motivating and exciting to know them, their culture, their hometown, their experiences and their ways of holidaying.

Often we ran from one platform to the other so as to not miss the connecting train and save time to explore the city. Almost running and panting when we reached the platform just to see our train passing by, missing it by just 1-2 seconds and then waiting for 40mins for another train (Instead of feeling sad, all I could remember is a very famous Bollywood scene in DDLJ when Kajol and SRK miss their train – in the same country –EUROPE :P). Oh it was so much fun!

Did I skip telling you about shopping? By now you would have guessed that I`m a super shopaholic. Shopping for me is like… you see it….you like it…you just pick it! No second thoughts (about money or luggage)! But as I mentioned my bag was already full so how could I shop. (Not that I didn’t shop frankly speaking, It’s my birth right and I did my fair share of duty: P). All you girls out there…. you know the feeling of shopping abroad: P. I shopped smartly, it was too-too less but yes I was successful at it. I learnt to tighten my fist, not for the money but for the space (hope you know the difference).

My take-aways from this trip:

Homestays were never so warm.

Meeting new people was never so contagious.

Trying local food was never so indulging.

Knowing about their lifestyles and where abouts was never so enriching.

Climbing to the 5th floor after long days of exploring the city was never so energizing.

Wearing the same sets of clothes throughout the trip was never so acceptable.

Laundry was never so much fun.

Shopping was never so satisfying.

My say on the backpacking experience:

• You will find yourself landed in a situation where you’re pretty much forced to be outgoing and meet new people.

• You get to talk to a variety of people from different countries.

• You get to practice and experience the 10 minute Hi-Bye friend.

• You get an opportunity to hang around with people one-on-one and in groups.

• You get to meet people who are all pretty cool, friendly and you’re bound to pick up some good traits from them.

• You get to be independent and have time to explore yourself and the world.

• You get to learn how to live with less which is the new more.

• You learn about prioritizing things.

• You will feel like a winner even after all your high and low experiences.

• You get to hear and share many astounding stories.

• You will feel not only physically healthy but mentally too.

Backpacking makes you modest; you see what a tiny place you occupy in the world!

Collect moments not things!



12 thoughts on “Indulge in the perks of backpacking and start planning a trip ASAP!!!

  1. Bobby you penned it down so well that it seemed lk my story wen I went fr a 20 day trip to France. It’s all so true n I cud connect to it easily.. Beautifully expressed!! Waiting for many more.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Very well expressed,amazing article,one should try and explore it this way, in a way we are experiencing new life altogether and a new you!A Hippie traveller is the name:)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Interesting and a fun way to kill an OCD.. Being a Jain makes backpacking even more nerve racking for obvious reasons but i agree completely that to discover urself you have to let go off completely..
    Waiting for you to share some interesting anecdotes of your trip in your next blog..

    Liked by 1 person

  4. So well written!!! Yes that mesg of having the door keys under the door Matt was really surprising for me too at first. But yes the entire concept of bagpacking, I’m tempted by this article, to plan one soon :)) 🍻 keep writing…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I definitely love the idea of walking and discovering the place by foot. That Is when you truly become a part of the place and not just a sight seeing tourist. Lots of difference in that 🙂
    Very insightful experience and I will definitely plan one too….Kedarkanth it is 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment